Gratitude

2014-6-15- fathers day 130I actually wrote this in June – long before I was checked into the hospital for an emergency gall bladder removal. As I was sitting in the emergency room shaking uncontrollably and numb and crying and wondering if I was going to be okay and scared to death, this is one of the first things that came to my mind because for a moment I was really afraid it would be the last thing anyone ever heard from me. I sat there holding my moms hand and Johns hand (dear man – thank you for being there once again for me) and I told John to make sure this was published because I wanted everyone to know how really grateful I really am. I considered changing a lot – especially for my kids, but that will be separate for them… So I haven’t changed much , but I want you to know… I am grateful….

Be grateful. We hear it all the time. Gratitude helps us realize how good our lives really our – helps us see the good side of things, the glass looking fuller. Gratitude is such an enormous part of my life right now that I can’t even begin to tell you. My heart is so full, overflowing with gratitude and joy and love that sometimes I just have to weep.

This year and especially this month have been extra-extraordinary. This year I took a leap and opened a new business. I was lucky enough to find a place that wanted me and needed me to start a business, so I am grateful to Preston Center Dance. For those of you who don’t know, I was newly divorced and looking for a teaching job last year. I couldn’t get a lead on a job very quickly, so I decided to get my Real Estate license. I was teaching CrossFit at another gym in town when Preston Center Dance asked me if I would be interested in starting a gym in their space. At first, I was going to be in business with them, but I realized I couldn’t do it by myself.

Then, I was lucky enough to find John Mariotti – the most incredible business partner ever – someone with the experience, passion, vision and drive to make something incredible. I used to teach for John in Nevada and it was through him that CrossFit changed my life. I asked him to fly out here and look at the space and tell me if he thought I could turn it into a gym and then help me figure out what I needed to put it all together. When the owners of Preston Center Dance met him, they fell in love and told me I needed to get him out here. I didn’t think he would ever even give it a second thought, but it turns out he was ready for a change – and an opportunity.

I was lucky enough to have a family that supports and loves me and helped me start a business that gives me the freedom to provide a positive, healthy, fun environment for my kids as well as the freedom to be there for them when I need to. And my kids have been incredibly supportive, too. Being there for my kids is such an amazing and priceless gift.

John and I were both lucky enough to find Dutch Lowy at Black Box strength and Conditioning in Ft. Worth to be our Olympic lifting trainer. Dutch has helped both of us to be better athletes and better trainers more than I can express.  And Landon Webster and all of his docs at Webster Chiropratic were a huge help to both of us as well. They have helped us with everything from plantar fasciitis, to muscles firing improperly to sprained ankles and more!

Finally, I was blessed with the most incredible, supportive and kind gym members any business could ask for. Each and every day I awaken excited to go to work and see the people that come to my gym. I see their smiles as they walk through the door. I see them struggle through workouts cursing me under their breath (yes, I can hear you! LOL). I see them achieve goals they never thought they could achieve. And I see them change – a little at a time – into healthier, happier, more confident and aware individuals. It fills my heart with joy every day!

This year, my partner, John Mariotti, also made it to the CrossFit Games. This is a goal that has taken him 3 years to attain. With everything we have put into the business, actually getting to the Games became questionable. But our members, our families, and our friends have come together and sponsored him to help him get there. We have even had the help from other CrossFit boxes in town – CrossFit WhiteRock, Mental Giants CrossFit, Tiger’s Den CrossFit, CrossFit Big D and Dallas Central have all helped us in one way or another. That is the real magic of this business – where people who compete, also join together and cheer each other on – just like in our daily WODs!

And so I am grateful. I am grateful for the hard times that make me so thankful for the good times. I am thankful for kindness, friendship, the desire to be the best people we can be, the desire to change the world… well, I could go on and on. The bottom line is…  THANK YOU each and every one of you for being a part of my life – a part of our journey – a part of being the best people we can be. Because of you and people like you – life is grand !

Leave a Reply

